And the winner is… The Sapphires!

A huge CONGRATULATIONS goes out to the cast and crew of “The Sapphires”. This wonderful Indigenous movie took home six AACTA awards!

The awards included best film, best lead actress – Debra Mailman, best lead actor – Chris O’Dowd, best supporting actress – Jessica Mauboy, best director – Wayne Blair, and best adapted screenplay – Keith Thompson and Tony Briggs. “The Sapphires” also won five of the six ACCTA technical awards, bringing the award tally to 11.

On March 22, 2013 “The Sapphires” will premiere in Los Angeles, the first premiere of its USA-wide release. We wish them all the very best for this exciting time.